Andermatt reviews

Ski resorts in Switzerland
What do you think about Andermatt?
5
4
3
2
1
John Doe
John Doe (Guest)
06/11/2021
Insane freeride and touring options at Gemstock. Not as good for intermediate but who cares... Lifts getting old so sometimes queues on weekends. Overall fantastic due to snow quality and exceptional terrain

Catarina
Catarina (Guest)
Yesterday 09:13
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Fantastic mountain. Most cool off-piste skiing from the top of the mountain. Also when with the train to Disentis where there are more cool off-piste rides. Andermatt is my favorite choice in the Alps if you choose based on skiing.

lamboren
09/03/2020
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Very good if you are looking for off-piste and lift-started tours.
There was a scarce week in mid-February 2020. Had two (50 plus 20cm) nightly snowfalls and most clear on the days. Andermatt is said to be one of the snowiest resorts and that was true when I was there.
Gemsstock is ffa for off-piste and lift-started tours, large patrol area and many opportunities for tours (including for me with snowboarding and snowshoes). Two efficient booths supplemented with tow and chairlifts. There is a large patrolled area directly from the top cabin at Gemsstock, and with shorter slopes (and avalanche knowledge and equipment) you reach Felsental and Giraffe (Giraffe Couloir - but I had not found it without a guide), with shorter hike Guspis is also accessible lucky.
On the other side, Andermatt-Oberalppass-Sedrun (which is combined), and then Disentis (needed 5min by train from Sedrun), it is more like classic alport, nice slopes of different steepness and Swiss well-piste. New efficient lifts and right with piste-close off piste all around. Here it is south facing, nice when it is sunny, and if you like sloppy plus degree off-piste then it became good opportunity in the afternoon - think about the avalanche danger here too. At the top of the Disentis area there are more good off-piste opportunities. You can then take the train all the way between Disentis and Andermatt, included in the lift pass - there are also 'après-ski' departures.
Both areas are mostly 'bare mountains' with very little forest, so are sensitive to poor visibility ... but on the other hand are very beautiful, you are in the Gotthard massif.
Although I was there in the European high season, there were almost no lift queues, except Gemsstock's valley station in the mornings after the snowfall - Andermatt is nothing if you want to avoid powderiness (but still much better than StAnton, for example).
It is Switzerland, so food and accommodation is not cheap, but it is not for the food you go here, and typically Swiss-saturated, correct-friendly accommodation. The lift ticket prices are not disturbingly high (if I remember right a little over half of Zermatt) and had no problems finding a perfectly ok priced accommodation (there is expensive luxury for those who want). I can't say much about the nightlife, because the conditions were so good, so my focus became sleep.
Plus: Gemsstock - mountain with fantastic opportunities for off-piste. Snow conditions. Good more classic alpine skiing can be found in Andermatt-Oberalppass-Sedrun-Disentis (recently expanded and assembled if I understood it correctly, become quite large overall)
Minus: Sensitive to poor visibility conditions. The powderiness I experienced lies somewhere between StAnton and Zermatt.




OneMag
27/02/2020
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Spent v.6 2020 in the village. Took the train from Zurich airport which was reasonably cheap and smooth. Once in place several plus degrees and rain. The day after heavy snowfall and the strong winds that lasted during the week. Only stayed 3 days when the peaks lifts were running. He did, however, drive through the entire SkiArena which stretches from Andermatt to Disentis.

Appreciated the ride above Sedrun and Disentis the most. There is plenty of fluff to go by the slopes there and you quickly get there by train or lift cage. The train is the Matterhorn-Gotthard bahn which offers beautiful views of the Oberalp pass. Didn't test the after ski train but it looked nice.
Gemstock was a pleasant experience during the fresh snow in the black and yellow descent from the top. The red has too much element of "transport". There are some opportunities for off-piste and several trips starting from Gemstock's back. But otherwise no remarkable piste skiing in my opinion, tough to pick up cabin (despite double) several times but probably less queues / visitors than in the more famous resorts in Switzerland.
The netting on the other side of the village is perfect for families with children and for sunbathing.

Walking distance to the train station and to the lifts. Cozy main street with a good selection of restaurants and some shops. Did not experience the village as particularly expensive. But on the other side of the station, the new luxury section is expanding fully with luxury accommodation and luxury stores.

Tested cross-country trails that are easily accessible and extend over large open areas of the valley. Due to strong winds, snow drifts blew across the tracks so it went a bit slow that day :)

Totally ok ski resort thanks to the choices in SkiArena but had been thrown with a good bathing & sports facility as a pastime during days with bad weather.














Mark
Mark (Guest)
10/04/2018
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Freeride mecca on the gemstock

Jonas
Jonas (Guest)
12/01/2015
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Note yesterday only here if you like off piste and do not want to party the village is stendöd after 22 if you do not want to pay expensive at the new jetset hotel.
Off the piste is cruel energy, you only wander a bit from Gemstock's back, you get unprecedented driving for hours, incredibly snow-covered, however, high low-risk due to the amount that comes each year. Get lifts, but you drive them even if it's really windy, it's just a gem and you'll find easy-to-reach off piste right down the village.
Cozy city with good food but as said no move except in the hill. Also positive is the proximity to Zurich.
Note rating at a lot of snow which is almost always

Bjerveland
16/09/2013
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
I was in Andermatt weekend week 11. We came there and it had not been snowing for a few days, although it was very easy to find untouched snow.

+ snow proof, came 7-8 meters snow per season according to local guide
+ easily accessible offpiste
+ cruel fall height
+ little people

- pretty cool lifts
- The village is dead after 21:00
"If it has not been snowing for a while, it's quite boring

Mullret
25/02/2013
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Positive: Good Mecka for those who like offpiste. Good jaw at the restaurants. Great area, Nätschen, as few people use, take the train! (the lift card works)

Negative: You'll be sad soon on the pretty little area, (Gemsstock) under the cable car if you drive mostly in the piste. The lifts went halfway when there were little people. Waiting time on weekends in the cabins. The ski bus between the areas is no hit even if it's free. Then a little detail that you rely on; No snowmobile on the sidewalks (held around 5-6 times) Perhaps no big thing, but shredding on the way to the lift / bus etc feels a bit B. Even the end point below Gemsstock is right at the main road that goes through the village. One might think they could clear away so you do not let go down the road where traffic is going on. Maybe a bit, but I would like Andermatt to take a trip to the major ski resorts in France. Small details but important anyway :-) The snow report said 4.2 meters V8 -2013, but it was only 2 dm in the slope.

Mattias Carlsson
Mattias Carlsson (Guest)
22/02/2013
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Is in Andermatt for the second time. Has been in the 20th century resorts in the Alps and Canada. In addition to Whistler, Andermatt is the best place. I have traveled myself, with my wife and children. Many nice travel memories, especially since we book late, when we know where the snow is falling. For us, Andermatt with large snowfall, large rides reachable by lifts or skins has provided unforgettable skiing experiences, both in simple wide, unspoilt snowy areas and in steeper steep passages. Everything has been achieved with good equipment, as we hired at the sports shop, good map material and good advice from knowledgeable staff at the Intersport business. In addition to skiing that we value most, the village is really cozy, easily reached by low cost flights to, for example, Basel from Copenhagen, El Zurch from Stockholm, and perfect working train for 2-3 hours. Both times we have been here, it feels like home in the country, no queues, cows in the center. This is the place for those who focus on skiing. Afterski is there but is not as lively as in Austria. The restaurants are not very cheap, so we took the apartment and went to the wrist. Last time we wore here it was 4m at the top and came half a meter during the week. This time it was 4m on top also came 2dm. Both times we had to go for a couple of days to play the snow. Will probably add a map showing some easy-access off-pistons when we get home.

Vakteman
09/11/2011
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Have no evil to say about Andermatt. Really nice / big mountains and the great fall height offer great rides and long runs. Cruel offpiste already during New Year's Eve 2009. Small cozy town with proximity to Oberalp and Sedrun on the same ski pass by train.