Narvikfjellet reviews

Ski resorts in Norway
What do you think about Narvikfjellet?
5
4
3
2
1
Carlssone
22/11/2021
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
A ski resort's review is easily colored by weather and snow conditions, so I will try to avoid falling too far into this hole. Narvik is close to the sea and has a fairly mild winter due to the Gulf Stream, which means that it is rarely cold. The location near the sea also means that the weather can vary greatly and with bad luck you get rain instead of snow.
The review should also be read considering that I love off-piste and that après ski is a spice and absolutely not a necessity. In Narvik, après ski meant a few beers at a quiet tavern. If you are looking for a Stavkroa party, you have come to the wrong place.
Me and some friends visited Narvik a number of years ago at the end of April, which means long bright evenings and sunsets in the Atlantic. We were lucky enough to spot 20 cm of fresh snow that fell during the night and in the morning on the first day of skiing. This made the visibility half bad and the surface good for our first of two ski days. During this day, as much time was spent in as off the piste. Narvik offers a fairly small system but with nice long slopes and plenty of space for the relatively few who went on the mountain.
The first day we guessed the possibilities around the mythical Mörkhåla but due to poor visibility we chose to stick to the easily accessible off-piste areas near the lift system and had a lot of fun on bare mountains, sparse birch forest and even dense birch forest.
Day two it burst open without being completely cloudless but significantly better visibility and then we could really enjoy Narvik's fantastic off-piste. With a 20 minute hike you reach the top of Mörkhåla and by far the best lift off-piste I have experienced in the Nordics. Mörkhåla is in the shade to the north and the snow was of good quality all day. The surfaces are large with varying slope depending on the choice of route down. There was a lot of riding left when we had to leave and with a guide there are more opportunities relatively close to the lift system but also many top tour opportunities around Narvik.
Lofoten is close by and is an even better alternative for those of you who want to ride a 100% summit trip, but I have not yet found a better lift off-piste in Norway or Sweden. Hope to be able to compare with Stranda in the coming season, but Hemsedal, Voss and Myrkdal are doing well in terms of terrain. The latter, however, get more snow during the season.
As I said, Narvik is a small system so a weekend fits just right, or why not a week of skiing in Narvik, Gränsen and Björkliden. So we did and then got lots of varied riding for a week. Had I made the trip again, I would have opted out of some day in Gränsen or Björkliden for some extra day in Narvik.

Camilla R
08/11/2021
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Really good slopes and the off-piste is cruel. Extra plus for the view. Have had some of my absolute best ski days here as it had dumped several decimetres of snow and they happened to piste most of the system in several days - we went with a smile from one ear to the other for 3 days

Lars Kraft
Lars Kraft (Guest)
31/01/2020
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Good advanced slopes, and dark holes are a fantastic off-piste stretch but Nordic dimensions measured. But the season on the slopes is relatively short. (In fact, think the peak is 1000 m above sea level.)

Andreas Mühlich
Andreas Mühlich (Guest)
24/03/2016
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
We were in Narvik at the end of March. It was a bit early in the season. The best time in Narvik is mid / late April or even later. We were lucky, it was snowing about 30 cm. However, both the gondola and the last chair lift were up to the Link closed. But with skins under the skis we went up to Link and got a long and nice ride, all alone and amazing pillows. Narvik is really special, magnificent and spectacular.

Joanna Wessbergh
Joanna Wessbergh (Guest)
07/04/2009
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Great = D
Three wonderful days with sun! Which place .... Definitely the most beautiful I saw, Norway's impressive mountain and the view down the open water, many pictures became.
The skiing was great, we were almost entirely on the slopes .... You could find pristine areas late in the day (in relation to open times in the lifts;))
Will definitely go there again next year !!!

AndersCederholm69
10/02/2009
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Extensive expansion of the ski resort on Narviksfjället is planned.
The ambition is to invest SEK 35 million in the next five years.
New project manager Trude Bertnes, who resigned from the job at LKAB Narvik, has high ambitions to develop the plant.
However, a great deal has already happened in the last years. Among other things, Narviksfjället has received new lighting, children's ski slopes and some changes in the structure of the slopes along with a new slider.
Biking in summertime
The further development will include improvements in children's ski area, better signage and pistemap, warehouses and workshop buildings, bicycle bikes, service and cafe construction and a bob course for summertime skiing.
In addition, one of the slopes, the so-called third backing, shall be equipped with lighting and devices for the purpose of securing snow to the slope. Snow screens to keep the snow intact and snow cannons even in that hill can be a solution, according to the future.
Narviksfjället has an impressive fall height of 900 meters. The longest downhill track measures 3,200 meters.
Common lift pass
The back is part of the collaboration between the facilities in Narvik, Riksgränsen, Björkliden and Abisko where a joint lift pass can be solved this year. Narviksfjällen's facility offers particularly spectacular views with the society just below the hill and a classic Norwegian landscape with fjords and fjords in the fund.
The backs also hold a high level of competition and here were determined five World Cup competitions for ladies in the 1990s.

offthepist
20/06/2007
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
So damn wonderful place !!
We were there during Easter this year. The day we arrived, it had not snowed for a long time, but then dumped new pillows every night for the rest of the week.
The place has large areas and if the weather and the snow are good, one can not imagine anything better.
Too bad that the top lifts up to the radio key are not open too often. Down from there, there is so much to go on.
A brutally lovely feeling to be on top with a view of the fjord and with untouched pads and sunshine ..

With good weather and snow, this is the best possible ride in Scandinavia.

Christmas_Inn
04/01/2007
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
There is only one word for Narvik and it is "amazing"! It was just wonderful to go where we were lucky that it was perfect weather, having heard that it might be a little windy. The sun was shining, the sky was blue and the snow was constant. It is truly an experience to go down to fjords. It's a completely sick contrast first frozen water and then it's suddenly fluid. Narvik is one of the most beautiful ski resorts in Scandinavia. I'm already looking back there ...

henrikmjoberg
17/06/2006 (Modified: 03/03/2007)
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Narvik has both a high and steep mountain which includes large fields. The skiers who inhabit the mountain are experienced, if not native, as serious with a raid of adventure in the body. Unfortunately, the weather conditions are somewhat uneven like this near the Norwegian coast, and it requires a lot of snow for the ride to be good.

Luckily, there were a lot of conditions before I visited Narvik in April and the sun was shining. It is limited with lightly prepared slopes, but it is also reflected by the clientele at Fjällheisrestauranten, which is much more laid for the more adventurous route. However, the prepared slopes are managed exceptionally. If you are prepared to tear and hesitate, you will be guaranteed pay for the mood, as the ride and the surroundings are spectacular, more beautiful place you can look long after. But even with shorter skiing, you will find easily accessible offpiste around either side of the radio mast. A sense of finding their own lines and favorite parties on the mountain is coming in quickly.

On the north side of the mountain lies Mørholla which is reached after the march to the top 1272 m. H. The area offers difficult off-piste skiing, but when riding on a northern side, avalanche risk should always be considered very high in the area.

Bronkenstein
22/05/2006
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Narvik, a very beautiful place!
Skiing is at least spectacular because you look right down the fjord and have Låång views of a massive mountain range from the resort. If you are lucky with the snow and it is a great place for skiing.

Note Go up to the top of the last lift and go down the back. Good ride and even better views from there ....