Reviews about Val Thorens

Ski resorts in France
What do you think about Val Thorens?
5
4
3
2
1
Christian
Christian (Guest)
Yesterday 12:57
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Good logistics without long lift queues.
Snow proof with the height of the village.
A little rough road the last mile up to the village.
Plenty of space for skiing outside the slopes.

Gustav
Gustav (Guest)
Yesterday 12:38
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Great skiing in a drowning big system!

Niclas-s
01/12/2017
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
The resort itself (type of village) is quite cozy, but it is not always easy to get along longer areas. Especially because the whole village is on the mountain, which creates lactic acid in the legs if you want a beer on afterskin quickly and not planned where you landed from the back after the last ride was good enough.
The ride is good-bye. With that said, like all other major resorts, so many people go there (NO shit), which means that if you want that man's man in the team, you're best done out in good time in the morning. It goes without saying that it is also powdered after a huge dump.
To Val Thorens, Orelle is a little bit smaller and a little half-awkward to get to, but it is highly recommended if you want a bit of pudding, just next to the hill.
What is important to think about in Val Thorens and Orelle is that it is very rocky, beware of the skis and the body so nothing breaks apart.
The difficulty of the slopes is very mixed and I would say with the hand of the heart that there are backs on the whole spectrum, from the very first cautious ride (or totally deadly super fast without any control at all), to Göran and Maria's 100 times o Alps with a day trip on horseback riding .... everyone can get a challenge simply.
Have been there 2 times over New Year and both times it was quite bad with snow, and twice during week 9 where it was great with snow.
Food in the hill is quite expensive 150-200kr isch for a lunch without a drink. However, there are x number of minimarkets around the village with a range like any Ica / system company.

eerik8
01/12/2017
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
My first alpesa was to Val Thorens and since then I have visited the resort another 3 times, so a total of four weeks. Can not help but give 5 stars. The resort is located at very high altitude, which results in snow safety. What I love with the resort is above all ski in-ski out which makes it incredibly smooth. There are slopes for all and lots of terrain so the offpiste possibilities are endless. If you are a friends friend and are looking forward to partying, Val Thorens is also a fantastic place. What I like is that nightlife is generally in the same street, which allows you to jump around at various bars without going / taking a bus. Recommends Val Thorens STRONG

AndreasF
22/03/2017
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
V 11 (11-18 / 3 2017)
Conditions:
* My first trip to the French Alps (been a lot in Italy and Austria though)
* Seems myself as a good skier.
* Probably one of the worst winters (snowmobile) according to various reports
* Had lift passes for the 3 valleys
* I'm closer to 40 so nightlife is not a priority
* We had 6 days of glorious sun, but loosnö was not even thinking about it.

Positively:
+ Ski-in, ski-out. Almost from the whole village. Here you have really succeeded
+ Large area, but the finest and best variation of the ride was found at the far end of the systems.
+ Effective lifts, even though there were some people in the piste, the queues were quite short (but longer than Italy, for example)
+ The 6 km pulse pad really gave a fat big smile all the way
+ Prices (food / drink) were still a bit lower than I thought. 6-7 E for a big beer. Most lunch restaurants had food for 13 Euro and up.
+ Best single yoke I think was at "Mont Vallon "
+ The coolest picnic spot on "Creux Noir "
+ The airport used in "Tomorrow never Dies " was a bit fun to see (located in Courchevel)



negative:
"No, that you market as a (relatively) car-free city became just ridiculous. Most other villages I have been in have had less traffic than this
"Despite the low / mid-season, it was quite crowded in the still narrow slopes of Val de T
- Slushen, but at the same time it's all you can count on v11. But it was good slush at 2300 m already in the morning.
- Opening hours on certain lifts. To get over from Val T to Meribel, you either had to wait 10 minutes for the lift to open or come a little later and quit. This was the most important thing if you wanted to be first off the back, but after a while, the gender decreased.
 
Other:
Very British pubs around the village. No valuation in it and there are options for anyone who wants to. The afternoons we ate in a few different places with mixed results to say. The only place where the whole company was satisfied was "Johns Scandinavian", but there was a main course 300 as well.
 

Summary:
A badly good system, but without the opportunity of off-piste, it became a bit the same though. Prefer a little more varied slopes with a little longer fall height. Can definitely imagine going back but not the next few years.

Algy
27/02/2017
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Big system and snow proof. Good for the whole family. Nippy when it snows because protective forests are missing on the Val Thorens side.
Avoid week 6 when the French have sports leave. Then there are a lot of people in the system.
The village is not the most cozy in the Alps, but it takes place. Some new houses that are really nice. Sherpa is by far a cozy hotel with very good food. The trip from Turin takes four hours. There are long hours when you land in the middle of the night. We went with Alp trips which proved to be a miss. Flight times with arrival until midnight. In this way, you effectively destroy two weekends.

Elindholmo
09/02/2015
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
I would probably not return to Val Thorens after spending a week there last year (2014).

The weather was amazing, if you like the sun better than sneezing.
We obtained the lift pass that gave access to all 3 Vallees, but seriously speaking, you can not take advantage of the 6-day lift ticket if you do not want to travel 3 hours a day.

On the other hand, I recommend Val Thorens if it's the party you're looking for!

+ Nightlife
+ Afterski
+ Ski in / out everywhere
+ Observation
+ The height of the village

-Long queues
-Piling Britter in black slopes
-Long transport distances
-Poor Offpiste
-Swind backlunch
-Breaky pistachio near Val Thorens

gubbfan
22/09/2014
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Like playing on a lottery. Can be a win but equally a nitlott. The lack of forest makes days of bad weather or flatlight wasted. For a weekly trip, any other place lower down in the system is preferable. Meribell with villages in 2 levels is the lower nicer. At finter days, you can easily take the lifts up to Val Thorens if you wish. Conversely, if you live in Val, it's easy to stay down if the weather turns over and the lifts back up close. The skiing is good in Val but too weather-dependent in my opinion
To me it's incredible that this place has such popularity among Swedes and Scandinavians

BigOlle
BigOlle (Guest)
06/12/2013
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Val Thorens is Europe's highest ski resort, but it is true
is at an altitude of 2300 meters and not as Mullret writes above at 3000m .....

Very well planned lifts and not many queues.

No trailer lifts! Just cabins, eggs and seat lifts.

Long season, where went snowboarding 26.04. once and it was full winter,

it takes an hour to drive up with the car from the valley, obs without queue on asphalt, with snow can it take
half a day.....

kluttra
16/09/2013
Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original
Would like to pay attention to the ski resort of Val Thorens in France. Have previously made seasons in Val d'Isère, Chamonix and Bad Gastein. I have also visited very many ski resorts, as I have often been around the Alps, such as other resorts I have visited, the following are mentioned: Verbier, Gressoney, Zermatt, Cervinia, St. Anton, Wagrain, Zell am See, Chamrousse and many other places.

The most positive thing with Val Thorens, according to my experience, is that wherever you live in the village you have ski-in and ski-out, which means that you can ski the ski slopes right outside the door of your apartment. This is hugely easy when you are in season, working at the resort, and you can quickly get back into the system and get back to work again. Or simply do not want to spend a holiday on the ski bus. The ski system size is another advantage and of course the easy-to-reach offpiste. The first time I traveled to Val Thorens we were able to find pillows and good scratches without even being aware of the guide book "Les Trois Vallées". The last but definitely not the least advantage of me is the outdoor aftershave at Folie Douce, which in the best southern position offers a popular folk party with home feel. Down in the village, afterskin goes on with live bands. A hot tip towards the spring edge is to skip this, bring a beer or two and sit at Lake Lac du Lou. As for nightlife, Alperna's largest night club is located in the resort.

One disadvantage may be the village's appearance, that it does not consist of small, genuine huts, such as Kitzbuhel. But recently, a lot of wooden facades have been changed and everything that is being built is in classic chalet style.

As a summation, it could be said that it is a place of crazy skiing in the absolute world class that seems to sneak into the heart of many skiers.